Association History

The association was organized at Daingerfield in 1950 as the Northeast Texas Hereford Association. It included Horned and Polled Herefords. William A. Connor was the first President; Ira Glass was Secretary. Followed by Adron Justiss, President and Herman Walters, Secretary.

The first sale was held March 31, 1951. The top selling bull sold for $1,400, owned by L.T. Camp Jr. A sale was held annually at Daingerfield for the next six years. It was then moved to Mt. Pleasant and held at the C.E. Gaddis barn.   In 1968, the Northeast Texas Polled Hereford Association, Inc., was organized and sales were held at the Rodeo Grounds in Mt. Pleasant.  In 1993, the Northeast Texas Polled Hereford Association, Inc., decided to move its annual sale to the Hopkins County Regional Civic Center at Sulphur Springs.  In 1994, it was decided to move the sale site to the Brett Thomas Auction Facility in Mt. Pleasant. In 1995, the name of the association was changed to Northeast Texas Hereford Association (Polled & Horned) and it was decided to move the sale back to the Rodeo Grounds in Mt. Pleasant.

Other presidents have been L.T. Camp Jr., C.E. Gaddis, A.C. Anderson, Don Reynolds, Larry Talley, James Montgomery, Charles Brabham, W.H. Montgomery, Charles Branton, W.I. Owens, Hervy Iliner, Mrs. W.B. McCoy, Roy Nail, Horace Stevens, Bob Young, Reece Sulivan, Mike Willis, Neal Stewart, Kurtis Mathias,  Joe Pat Attaway, Scott Gaylon, Mike Rader, Scott Stewart, Larry Foreman, Todd Williams and Barbara Metch.

Secretaries serving have been L.B. Henson, who compiled the Constitution and By-Laws of the Association, F.H. (Buck) Stochr, Larry Talley, Alice Reynolds, Mildred Lamb, Mae Justiss, Sheila Theobold, Jill Young, Susan Rader and Todd Williams. This association has been fortunate in that all the members have worked together with love and respect for each other. With this cooperation, the sale has continued through the years.